Rio 2016 Olympic Games judging commission named

13 October 2015
Lausanne (SUI)
The 14-strong International Technical Official team represents 14 different nationalities and four continents.

While the majority of judging appointments for 2016 were announced in September during the Olympic test event, the commission for any Olympic Games is subject to approval by the World Archery Executive Board.

Following review after the Aquece Rio International Archery Challenge, the same group of 14 judges as was appointed to the test event was proposed to act as archery’s International Technical Official team at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. The Executive Board approved the selection in full.

Three members of the commission – Cesar Araujo, Karla Cabrera and Graham Potts – return to judge at their second Olympics in a row, after acting as International Technical Officials at London 2012.

Katerina Plakouda, Charmaine Ho and Davood Nematinia judged the 2012 Paralympic Games.

Four years later in Sambodrome, Rio de Janeiro’s carnival stadium, they will be joined by National Technical Officials appointed from within Brazil to oversee another successful, safe and fair Olympic archery event.

Rio 2016 Olympics, Technical Officials

  • Graham Potts  (Chair)
  • Cesar Araujo 
  • Andrea bortot 
  • Celine Gravel 
  • Robert Pian 
  • Ahmed Koura 
  • Charmaine ho 
  • Katerina Plakouda 
  • Davood Nematinia 
  • Sabrina Steffens 
  • Fai Keong Leong 
  • Paola Praschker 
  • Carla Cabrera 
  • Xiuzhi Zhang  (Director of Shooting)


  • Andras Hegedus 
  • Henk Wagemakers