2 Olympians retain places on Indian team

27 April 2017
New Delhi (IND)
At least five archers will make their world archery debuts in 2017.

Olympians Deepika Kumari and Atanu Das have retained their spots on the Indian national archery team for the opening events of the 2017 season after a selection process that’s resulted in turnover across the squad. Weeks after clinching senior national titles, Kumari and Das secured invitations to the Hyundai Archery World Cup stages in Shanghai and Antalya during the trials held at DDA Yamuna Sport Complex in New Delhi on 15-17 April.

“Whenever I compete, I try to be better every day by keeping calm, composed and confident. I hope the 2017 World Cup season will be even better for me,“ said Atanu. Das, who competed in his first Olympic Games in 2016, finished ninth in Rio.

Runner-up at the Hyundai Archery World Cup Final in 2015, compound man Abhishek Verma also retained his space on the international team, saying: “Although I was the one to secure the place for the World Games, I had to undergo trials to make the event. I am happy to secure a place on the national squad. I am practising hard and putting all my efforts to achieve more and bring laurels for the nation.”

Divya Dhayal, a 15-year-old compound archer from Harayana who recently won her first senior national title, attended the Antalya leg of the international tour in 2016. She’s joined by Asian Champion Jyothi Surekha Vennam in the compound women’s team for 2017.

“During the trials, I did not feel anxious and I enjoyed my shooting. I hope to stay in form and shoot my best in the World Cup as well,” Daval said.

Recurve archers Indrachand Swami, Monika Saren and Ankita Bhakat are among those making their international debuts in 2017 as part of the Indian team, while 33-year-old compound archer Chinnaraju Srither returns for his second consecutive season touring with the team.

Parakash Gangadhar, Jiwanjot Singh Teja, Chungda Sherpa and Surinder Singh are tipped to coach the squad at events, accompanied by medical personnel Vikas and Pinki.

Indian squad

Recurve men: Atanu DasDhaniram Basumatary, Vishwas and Indrachand Swami.

Recurve women: Deepika Kumari, Monika Soren, Ankita Bhakat and Preeti.

Compound men: Abhishek Verma, Chinnaraju Sirther, Amanjeet Singh and Gurwinder Singh.

Compound women: Divya Dhayal, Jyothi Surekha Vennam, Snehal Mandhare and Praveena.

Member associations