World Archery announces Top Trumps card game

7 February 2018
Lausanne (SUI)
The first edition of World Archery Top Trumps will feature 30 international athletes.

World Archery fans will now be able to pit international archers against each other in the sport’s take on the classic card game Top Trumps, which will be released in mid-March via World Archery’s online shop.

The game is World Archery’s first non-endemic entertainment product and features 30 international athletes, including Olympic Champions Chang Hye Jin and Oh Jin Hyek, Hyundai Archery World Cup Champions Brady Ellison and Sara Lopez, and recent World Archery Champion Sebastien Peineau.

A special edition 31st card of Olympic Champion Park Sung-Hyun will also be available at launch. 

“Our world-class archery athletes are true stars on the shooting line and now on these new Top Trumps playing cards,” said World Archery Secretary General Tom Dielen.

“This card game is part of World Archery’s initiative to promote its champion archers and develop community around the sport, both in terms of participation and fanbase.”

Top Trumps was first published in the 1960s and features packs of cards based on themes ranging from sports and popular culture to buildings and dinosaurs. 

The game revolves around players comparing statistics on the cards to win rounds, in which the player with the highest-value statistic collects each opponents’ card. Players are eliminated when they lose all their cards, with the winner being the player who obtains the whole pack.

World Archery Top Trumps was produced by Winning Moves UK.

– – –

The 30 athletes featured in the limited edition game are Aida Roman (Mexico), Andrea Marcos (Spain), Atanu Das (India), Braden Gellenthien (USA), Brady Ellison (USA), Chang Hye Jin (Korea), Deepika Kumari (India), Demir Elmaagacli (Turkey), Jean-Charles Valladont (France), Ki Bo Bae (Korea), Kim Woojin (Korea), Ku Bonchan (Korea), Linda Ochoa-Anderson (Mexico), Lisa Unruh (Germany), Marcella Tonioli (Italy), Marcus D’Almeida (Brazil), Matt Stutzman (USA), Mike Schloesser (Netherlands), Naomi Folkard (Great Britain), Oh Jin Hyek (Korea), Sebastien Peineau (France), Sara Lopez (Colombia), Sarah Prieels (Belgium), Sarah Sonnichsen (Denmark), Sjef van den Berg (Netherlands), Stephan Hansen (Denmark), Tan Ya-Ting (Chinese Taipei), Taylor Worth (Australia), Veronika Marchenko (Ukraine) and Zahra Nemati (Iran).